What’s PMTA

 

A premarket tobacco application (PMTA) is an application that must be reviewed and approved by the Food and Drug Administration before a new tobacco productcan be legally marketed in the United States. Under section 910 of the FD&C Act, persons wanting to market a new tobacco product (one that was not commercially marketed in the United States as of (i.e., on) February 15, 2007, or any modified tobacco product that was commercially marketed after February 15, 2007) must first obtain an order to do so (referred to in this guidance as a marketing order) under section 910(c)(1)(A)(i) unless a report pursuant to section 905(j) of the FD&C Act has been submitted for the new tobacco product and FDA has issued an order under section 910(a)(2) that the new tobacco product is substantially equivalent to a tobacco product commercially marketed in the United States as of (i.e., on) February 15, 2007 (the 905(j) pathway), or the new tobacco product is exempt from the substantial equivalence requirements.When a new product is not found to be substantially equivalent to an appropriate predicate product or exempt from the substantial equivalence requirements, you must submit a PMTA under section 910(b) and receive a marketing order under section 910(c)(1)(A)(i) prior to marketing the product.
All deemed products that meet the definition of a “new tobacco product,” including ENDS, are subject to the requirements of premarket review in sections 910(a)(2) of the FD&C Act. Given the expected difficulty in identifying valid ENDS predicate products (products commercially marketed on February 15, 2007, or previously determined to be substantially equivalent to an appropriate predicate product) for use in the substantial equivalence pathway, FDA expects to receive PMTA submissions from manufacturers of deemed ENDS products. Section 910(b)(1) of the FD&C Act contains the requirements for a PMTA submission.

Applying to legally market a tobacco product in compliance with FDA regulations may feel complicat- ed and confusing, especially for first time applicants. While there are three main ways to bring a new tobacco product to market, a premarket tobacco application (PMTA) is the most likely pathway by which manufacturers of e-cigarettes and other electronic nicotine delivery systems (ENDS) will apply to market their products. To help manufacturers navigate the PMTA process, FDA has finalized a guidance on how to complete it as correctly, efficiently, and cost-effectively as possible.


Prior to finalizing this guidance, FDA had issued a draft guidance for ENDS manufacturers in May 2016. While the final version is very similar to the draft, there are a few significant changes that are important to know before submitting a PMTA. These changes have been primarily made to further explain the types of information that may help FDA determine if marketing a proposed new tobacco product would be appropriate for the protection of public health.

Some of the changes in the updated guidance include:

A revised list of the harmful or potentially harmful constituents (HPHC) that are recommended for analysis of an ENDS product;

The types of short-term testing that may be conducted to support an ENDS PMTA;

Other recommended design considerations for some ENDS and their parts.

PMTA for ENDS guidance asks that manufacturers consider including instructions to consumers for responding to accidental nicotine exposure, as well as a prominently displaying a nicotine exposure warning on product packaging. In addition to these instructions, FDA recommends applicants provide a plan for tamper-resistant packaging, including how to tell if the packaging has been tampered with or damaged.

The guidance has information about battery specifications, examples of battery testing certifi- cates, and potential safety features.
FDA understands that many ENDS manufacturers are small business owners who may have con-cerns about the costs of submitting PMTA. In August 2016, when all ENDS products were brought under FDA’s regulatory jurisdiction, some rumored estimated costs would have been prohibitive for many small businesses. FDA’s estimates, however, are significantly lower than these theoret- ical numbers; total costs for meeting all PMTA requirements will vary from product to product.
Although there is no set cost for preparing a complete PMTA, FDA recognizes manufacturers’ concerns about affordability and has provided some measures in the guidance that could potentially reduce cost. These steps include:
“Bridging”,which allows a PMTA applicant to forego costly research studies if they can refer to existing data or studies previously conducted by themseleves or another party
Using published iterature reviews,including meta-analyses, or independent analyses of publicly avilable data to help support a PMTA rather than paying for new analyses.
Referencing tobacco product master files (TPMFs),which may increase efficiency and reduce costs for complying with premarket requirements
FDA understands the labor, time, and financial commitment involved in applying to market an ENDS product, and has taken manufacturers into consideration when writing this guidance. Because FDA’s new comprehensive tobacco regulatory plan places nicotine at the heart of tobacco control efforts, the agency aims to authorize new tobacco products that will provide adults, who are addicted to nicotine, with less harmful alternatives to smoking cigarettes, while keeping any form of nicotine out of the hands of children. ENDS manufacturers are encouraged to create innovative, potentially less harmful tobacco products that can efficiently deliver satisfying levels of nicotine to addicted adult smokers, with less of the known toxicity than combustible products.

Our Preparation

 

After more than 2 years of project preparation and research, SMISS have help many customers submit the PMTA to the FDA before September 9, 2020.

Team

Research

Product Design

Test

File

Submit

Our Product Testing

 

Our product testing carries out scientific research and analysis in product analysis and manufacturing research, non clinical research, clinical human research and other compliance fields.
  • Key test
  • HPHCs
  • In-vivo & ln-vitro
  • Stability Studies
  • Extractables and Leachables
  • Clinical research
  • UL8139
  • Product safety assurance

    The purpose of hphcs testing is to analyze product components under high intensity and non high intensity conditions, including hphcs and other toxicity analyses, and to assess the details of toxicological and pharmacological characteristics of the product to ensure that the product components are harmless and to ensure the safety of users.

    Material safety assurance

    In the process of supplier selection and raw material control, define the PMTA requirements of extractives and extractives to ensure the conformity of suppliers and raw materials. At the same time, the traceability of the whole process is realized, the responsibilities of each link are defined, and the product quality and the safety of raw materials are ensured.

    Electrical safety assurance

    ANSI / can / UL 8139 is the electrical system of electronic cigarette and steam device approved by American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and Canadian Standards Committee (SCC), covering the electrical, heating, battery and charging systems of these products. The development of UL 8139 also addressed specific fire safety issues raised by North American fire officials.

    Our Advantages

     

    GMP Standard Factory

    CNAS Test Center

PMTA
PMTA

What’s PMTA

什么是PMTA

售前烟草申请(PMTA)是一种新的烟草产品可以在美国合法销售之前必须经过食品和药物管理局审查并批准的申请。根据《 FD&C法案》第910条,想要销售新烟草制品的人(自2007年2月15日起不在美国进行商业销售的烟草制品,或任何在2月以后在商业上销售的改性烟草制品的人)必须根据第910(c)(1)(A)(i)条的规定首先获得命令(在本指南中称为市场销售令),除非根据第905(j)条的规定获得了报告(2007年15月15日)。已经针对新烟草产品提交了FD&C法案,并且FDA已根据第910(a)(2)条发布了一项命令,要求该新烟草产品实质上等同于(在)美国在美国市场上销售的烟草产品2007年2月15日(905(j)途径),或新烟草产品免于实质等效要求。当发现新产品与适当谓词产品实质上不等效或免于实质等效要求时,您必须根据第91条提交PMTA 0(b),并在营销产品之前根据第910(c)(1)(A)(i)条收到营销订单。
所有符合“新烟草产品”定义的被视为产品,包括电子烟(ENDS),都必须遵守《 FD&C法案》第910(a)(2)条的上市前审查要求。 鉴于识别用于实质等效途径的有效ENDS谓词产品(2007年2月15日在市场上销售的产品,或先前确定与基本谓词产品相当的产品)的预期困难,FDA希望收到来自制造商的PMTA提交文件 被视为ENDS产品。 《 FD&C法案》第910(b)(1)节包含提交PMTA的要求。

遵照FDA法规向烟草制品进行合法销售的申请可能会感到复杂和困惑,特别是对于首次申请者。尽管有三种主要的方法将新烟草产品推向市场,但电子烟和其他电子尼古丁传送系统(ENDS)的制造商将最有可能采用售前烟草应用(PMTA)来推销其产品。为帮助制造商驾驭PMTA流程,FDA已最终确定了有关如何尽可能正确,高效和经济地完成该流程的指南。

在最终确定该指南之前,FDA已于2016年5月发布了针对ENDS制造商的指南草案。尽管最终版本与草案非常相似,但在提交PMTA之前,需要了解一些重要的重要更改。做出这些更改主要是为了进一步解释可以帮助FDA确定销售拟议的新烟草产品是否适合保护公众健康的信息类型。


更新后指南中的一些更改包括:
建议对ENDS产品进行分析的有害或潜在有害成分(HPHC)的修订清单;
可以进行以支持ENDS PMTA的短期测试的类型;
某些ENDS及其零件的其他推荐设计注意事项。
PMTA ENDS指南要求制造商考虑包括对消费者的响应,以应对意外的尼古丁暴露,并在产品包装上突出显示尼古丁暴露警告。 除了这些说明之外,FDA还建议申请人提供防篡改包装的计划,包括如何判断包装是否被篡改或损坏。

该指南包含有关电池规格,电池测试证书示例以及潜在安全功能的信息。


FDA了解到,许多ENDS制造商都是小型企业主,他们可能对提交PMTA的费用有所担忧。 2016年8月,当所有ENDS产品都归美国食品及药物管理局(FDA)监管时,有传言估计的成本对许多小型企业而言实在是太高了。 但是,FDA的估计值大大低于这些理论值。 满足所有PMTA要求的总成本因产品而异。


尽管准备一份完整的PMTA没有固定的成本,但FDA认识到制造商对负担能力的担忧,并在指南中提供了一些可能降低成本的措施。这些步骤包括:
“桥接”,如果PMTA申请人可以参考现有数据或以前由他们自己或另一方进行的研究,则可以放弃昂贵的研究。
使用已发表的文献评论,包括元分析,或对公开可获取数据的独立分析来帮助支持PMTA,而不是为新的分析付费。
引用烟草产品主文件(TPMFs),这可能增加效率和降低成本,以满足上市前的要求。。
FDA理解申请将ENDS产品推向市场所涉及的劳力,时间和财务承诺,并且在编写此指南时已将制造商考虑在内。 由于FDA的新全面烟草监管计划将尼古丁置于烟草控制工作的核心,因此该机构旨在授权新的烟草产品,该产品将为成瘾于尼古丁的成年人提供比吸烟少的有害替代品,同时保留任何形式的尼古丁 从孩子们的手中。 鼓励电子尼古丁传送系统制造商创造创新的,危害较小的烟草产品,该产品可以有效地向成瘾的成年吸烟者提供令人满意的尼古丁含量,而已知毒性比可燃产品少。

Our Preparation

我们的准备

经过2年多的项目准备和研究,SMISS已经帮助多家客户在2020年9月9日前向FDA提交了PMTA。

团队

调研

产品研发

安全检测

资料提交

提交申请

Our Product Testing

我们的产品测试

我们的产品检测在产品分析与制造研究、非临床研究、临床人体研究等合规领域进行科学研究与分析。
  • 关键测试
  • HPHCs
  • In-vivo&ln-vitro
  • 稳定性测试
  • E&L测试
  • 临床测试
  • UL8139
  • 产品安全保证

    HPHCs测试旨在分析产品组件在高强度和non-high-intensity使用条件下,包括HPHCs和其他毒性分析,评估产品的毒理学和药理学特性的细节,以确保产品组件是无害的,并确保用户的安全。

    材料安全保证

    在供应商选择和原材料控制过程中,明确萃取物和萃取物的PMTA要求,确保供应商和原材料的符合性。同时实现了全过程的可追溯性,明确了各环节的责任,确保了产品质量和原材料的安全。

    电气安全保证

    ANSI/CAN/UL 8139是美国国家标准协会(ANSI)和加拿大标准委员会(SCC)认可的电子卷烟和蒸汽装置电气系统,涵盖这些产品的电气、加热、电池和充电系统。UL 8139的开发还解决了北美消防官员提出的具体消防安全问题。

    Our Advantages

    我们的优势

    GMP标准的工厂

    CNAS测试中心